Claudia Dornelles  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 12:05
Member (2020)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 17, 2021

Hi, everybody!

This is my first time in the forums, so forgive if I'm in the wrong place. A job has been posted seeking freelancers in several language pairs, and the application page on the company's website states: "Earn cryptocurrency: XFL (the Language Coin)". Has anyone ever heard of XFL or had a job offer that involved being paid in this crypto?

Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member because it was not in line with site rule
Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member because it was not in line with site rule
Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member for the following reason: The quoted post is hidden.
Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 18:05
English to Russian
Nope May 17, 2021

And definitely will not ever accept such jobs until the time that I can buy bread for that currency.

Jorge Payan
Adieu

Adieu
Adieu  Identity Verified
Ukrainian to English
+ ...
Most attempts to push unknown crypto are scams May 31, 2021

As are most attempts to push unknown payment services, paid platforms, etc.

If the place you first hear about something is also coincidentally the very place that wants to sell it to you (payment for services in an alternative form = selling you that something), that's usually a grift.

In the best-case scenario, their information is biased and will lead you to overestimate its value and utility. But chances are that it's just a full-on scam.

[Edited at 2021-05-31
... See more
As are most attempts to push unknown payment services, paid platforms, etc.

If the place you first hear about something is also coincidentally the very place that wants to sell it to you (payment for services in an alternative form = selling you that something), that's usually a grift.