TRADOS virgin - which training module do I choose?
Thread poster: Eva Middleton
Eva Middleton
Eva Middleton  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:04
German to English
Jun 14, 2006

I've just joined into the latest group buy for Trados 2006 bundled with training.
I can choose either a Translator's Workbench or an SDLX training module - which one should I go for?
I've never used Trados before so need something to help me get started, really.

Hynek Palatin
Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 12:04
English to Czech
+ ...
Workbench Jun 14, 2006

I think you should start with Workbench, because it's a bit less user friendly and at the same time used by most of the agencies (at least from my experience). But don't forget to have a look at SDLX as well - the documentation should be enough.

You should know both of the programs to be able to decide which one you want to use, if you are free to choose (or to be able to use it, if your clients require it).

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 06:04
English to French
+ ...
Hello Eva Jun 15, 2006

I use both programs, and when I have the freedom to pick the one I prefer, I base my decision on the job at hand. Somtimes I use one, sometimes the other. But both have been requested by clients also, so I guess it's good to know your way around both. I actually recommend you take some sample files - you can get tons staright off the net - and practice when you have a little time. SDLX is actually easy to learn just by practicing on your own.

I agree with Hynek's opinion, that the l
... See more