Thread poster: Michelle Silbert
Michelle Silbert
Michelle Silbert
Local time: 21:37
English
+ ...
Feb 11, 2010

Bpnjour!

I have a group of 4-6 adults that are interested in group lessons at my house. How much do I charge? I plan to provide materials, etc for the course. This will be a formal novice low to novice mid level class. I am a french instructor so I will follow a textbook as well not just conversational. Is $20/hr too much to ask?

Any help will be appreciated!
Thanks,
Michelle

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 21:37
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
It depends Feb 11, 2010

It depends on the going rates in your area, of course. As a very general guideline, we pay teachers about $35/hour of classroom time, about $45/hr if they also have administrative duties. To that you can add your costs of materials and other expenses (including use of your house) to come up with your total costs. Double it to find your selling price (since you're effectively in business), and divide it by the number of students to get a figure for tuition. Then of course you will need to adj... See more
It depends on the going rates in your area, of course. As a very general guideline, we pay teachers about $35/hour of classroom time, about $45/hr if they also have administrative duties. To that you can add your costs of materials and other expenses (including use of your house) to come up with your total costs. Double it to find your selling price (since you're effectively in business), and divide it by the number of students to get a figure for tuition. Then of course you will need to adjust for your local conditions (what are teachers paid in your area, competition) and, of course, what your students are willing to pay.Collapse

Hildegard Klein-Bodenheimer (X)
Hildegard Klein-Bodenheimer (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:37
English to German
+ ...
Do you mean $20.00 per student per hour? Feb 12, 2010

Hi Michelle,