Translation of smartphone apps and web pages process
Thread poster: Christopher S.
Jan 14, 2022

Hello fellow translators,

I am studying translation and I would like to be specialized in translation and localisation of websites and applications. I'm doing a presentation for one of my class and I would like to present the translation of :

-Smartphone applications

- Web pages

What is for you the ideal process for a high quality translation for the different sections above? What are for you the steps and potential people involved in these tra
... See more
Hello fellow translators,

I am studying translation and I would like to be specialized in translation and localisation of websites and applications. I'm doing a presentation for one of my class and I would like to present the translation of :

-Smartphone applications

- Web pages

What is for you the ideal process for a high quality translation for the different sections above? What are for you the steps and potential people involved in these translations.
Here I'm talking an internal translator for a start-up for example, not a freelancer or a translator working for an agency?

For example, how are smarthpone applications usually translated ? Does the translator receive the full text of everything written in the application in a CAT tools and the developer then puts the translation on the app himself ?

Same for Web pages, how are they translated ? The translator translates everything is a CAT tool and the developer copies everything or wordpress ? And only the translators and the developers are involved ? Or also other people ?

Who are all the people involved ?

From what I understood by reading some posts here :