ناشر الموضوع: picko924
picko924
picko924
Local time: 20:54
إسباني إلى أنجليزي
+ ...
Aug 21, 2005

Dear All,

I am a translator/interpreter starting out. I have completed a few freelance projects and after having met other more experienced translators and interpreters, I am under the impression that many have business cards and even websites advertising their services. Is this standard practice ? Does it really improve your chances of getting work ? And finally, how do I go about setting this up for myself ? I am living and working in the greater London area, if anyone has any adv
... See more
Dear All,

I am a translator/interpreter starting out. I have completed a few freelance projects and after having met other more experienced translators and interpreters, I am under the impression that many have business cards and even websites advertising their services. Is this standard practice ? Does it really improve your chances of getting work ? And finally, how do I go about setting this up for myself ? I am living and working in the greater London area, if anyone has any advice and/or recommmendations on 'putting yourself out there', please let me know.

[Edited at 2005-08-21 17:22]
Collapse

Rafa Lombardino
Rafa Lombardino
الولايات المتحدة
Local time: 12:54
عضو (2005)
أنجليزي إلى برتغالي
+ ...
It worked for me... Aug 21, 2005

Maria D'Silva wrote:

Does it really improve your chances of getting work? And finally, how do I go about setting this up for myself?.

Dear Maria:

I'm yet to make some business cards, but I can honestly tell you that having a professional website (not an html page that has to be scrolled down forever...) really attracts many clients.

The reason I don't have business cards yet is that most of my clients are either in other states within the US or abroad. So, most of them contact me online and my agencies website ends up being a business card.