Michele Hamburg
Michele Hamburg  Identity Verified
米国
Local time: 23:49
英語 から スペイン語
+ ...
Jun 19, 2009

Hi all,
I'm just getting started in this industry. There's a great deal online for the new Trados Suite. Would you recommend buying, or should I wait until I'm more established? How soon is too soon to make such an investment?
Thanks so much!

[Edited at 2009-06-19 15:39 GMT]

Laurent KRAULAND (X)
Laurent KRAULAND (X)  Identity Verified
フランス
Local time: 05:49
フランス語 から ドイツ語
+ ...
Just a little detail, Michele... Jun 19, 2009

Your question is about buying a CAT (computer-assisted translation) tool, not TMs (translation memories).

Translation memories are generated by CAT tools and can be used by them.

As per buying SDL Trados Studio 2009, I and other colleagues think there are less expensive CAT tools which perform as well... and are easier to install. As a star
... See more
Your question is about buying a CAT (computer-assisted translation) tool, not TMs (translation memories).

Translation memories are generated by CAT tools and can be used by them.

As per buying SDL Trados Studio 2009, I and other colleagues think there are less expensive CAT tools which perform as well... and are easier to install. As a starter in this industry, you'd certainly not need to enter it with permanent headaches about the way you should deal with your CAT tool.

Laurent K.

[Edited at 2009-06-19 15:17 GMT]
Collapse

Michele Hamburg
米国
英語 から スペイン語
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
CAT tools Jun 19, 2009

Thanks for your answer, but what about all the job posts requiring the translator to work with Trados? Would they be willing to work with a freelancer who uses another brand of CAT?
Thanks

John Jory
John Jory  Identity Verified
ドイツ
英語 から ドイツ語
+ ...
Other brands of CAT Jun 19, 2009