How much time does it take to become a full-time translator?
Initiator des Themas: s_mathon
s_mathon
s_mathon  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:14
Spanisch > Französisch
+ ...
May 14, 2009

Hello everybody,

I am a franco-mexican translator. I am new here. I have finished my studies a few months ago and I am starting as a freelance translator in France.
I would like to know how many time did it take for those who are already freelancers to have a full-time occupation in translation? And when were you able to earn enough money to live of your translation activity?

I have done some works, but not enough to pay all my charges. I have begun looking for c
... See more
Hello everybody,

I am a franco-mexican translator. I am new here. I have finished my studies a few months ago and I am starting as a freelance translator in France.
I would like to know how many time did it take for those who are already freelancers to have a full-time occupation in translation? And when were you able to earn enough money to live of your translation activity?

I have done some works, but not enough to pay all my charges. I have begun looking for clients 3 months ago. I know it can be long, and that looking for clients is a long-term work, but I would like to have some examples, to know if I am doing everything right.

Could anyone of you give me some advice?? It would really be very helpful.

Thank you very much!

Stéphanie.

[Edited at 2009-05-14 14:30 GMT]

[Edited at 2009-05-15 10:58 GMT]
Collapse

Sergei Leshchinsky
Sergei Leshchinsky  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 12:14
Mitglied (2008)
Englisch > Russisch
+ ...
I takes both ALL time and NO time :) May 14, 2009

FULL-TIME — to work full time.
(Almost) NO TIME — to make a decision to work full-time.

;D

Sergei Leshchinsky
Ukraine
Mitglied (2008)
Englisch > Russisch
+ ...
Start working with some local agency... May 14, 2009

... and try getting freelancier and freelancier every day...
Do jobs and look for clients in parallel.