Witten bell VS Kneser ney smoothing
Thread poster: agusia147
agusia147
agusia147
Poland
Jul 16, 2015

Could you please help me ? I am new in MT translation. I am interested why sometimes witten bell smoothing returns better results than kneser ney ? In what situations it is better to use each of them ? Do you have any good references ?

Benno Groeneveld
Benno Groeneveld  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:20
English to Dutch
+ ...
I don't even want to know Jul 18, 2015

what Kneser ney smoothing is, if someone tries to explain it online thusly:

Kneser-Ney evolved from absolute-discounting interpolation, which makes use of both higher-order (i.e., higher-n) and lower-order language models, reallocating some probability mass from 4-grams or 3-grams to simpler unigram models. The formula for absolute-discounting smoothing as applied to a bigram language model is presented below:

Pabs(wi∣wi−1)=max(c(wi−1wi)−δ,0)∑w′c(wi−1w′
... See more
what Kneser ney smoothing is, if someone tries to explain it online thusly:

Kneser-Ney evolved from absolute-discounting interpolation, which makes use of both higher-order (i.e., higher-n) and lower-order language models, reallocating some probability mass from 4-grams or 3-grams to simpler unigram models. The formula for absolute-discounting smoothing as applied to a bigram language model is presented below:

Pabs(wi∣wi−1)=max(c(wi−1wi)−δ,0)∑w′c(wi−1w′)+αpabs(wi)

Here δ refers to a fixed discount value, and α is a normalizing constant. The details of this smoothing are covered in Chen and Goodman (1999).

Source: http://www.foldl.me/2014/kneser-ney-smoothing/ and on that page the formula looks even smoothier.

Wikipedia has even more interesting formulas:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kneser–Ney_smoothing

I wonder how that would come out after a Machine Translation.
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 11:20
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
. Jul 18, 2015